End of the Year #ReadingCram – Top Ten Books in 2013

20131209-044042.jpg

Welcome to day 3 challenge of #ReadingCram readathon. Today’s challenge is to post Top Ten Books that I read in 2013.

ttb

From top to bottom:

1. Melbourne by Winna Efendi | Review

It’s one of my favorite STPC series (written in Indonesian). The novel sets in Melbourne, Australia. It’s about finding the lost love. Such a sweet story.

2. Ghost Knight by Cornelia Funke | Review

My first encounter with Cornelia Funke. I didn’t expect to like this book, but I did. Read this book in November, it’s one of my favorite middle grade books.

3. The Boy in The Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne | Review

I was crazy about Holocaust theme and I’m glad that I found this book on the net. I couldn’t move on from this book for 3 days. I was overwhelmed, not to mention the midnight sobbing that I did secretly. One of the best books I read in 2013. I’ll reread this book in 2014.

4. Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom | Review

I can say this is the best book I read in 2013. Top best. Books can be dangerous and this one is no exception. Have a Little Faith has changed me in a good way, made me think about a lot of things that happened in my life. I think everyone should read this book. Highly recommended.

5. The Fifth Mountain by Paulo Coelho | Review

It’s the best bargain book ever. With less than $2.00 you got a soul therapy. Though the theme might be subjective to certain religion, I think everyone can enjoy this book. The Fifth Mountain makes me want to read other books by Paulo Coelho.

6. Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill | Review

I’m a huge fan of Stephen King and now I’m also a big fan of Joe Hill. This is not an easy book to read (if you know what I mean… dealing with supernatural things). After I read this book, the fedora ghost appeared in my dream. I read the ebook version of this, but I decided to buy the translated version to experience the horror again.

7. Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult | Review

So glad that I finally read Jodi Picoult. Perfect Match tells about recovery, mistakes and your biggest fear. I could not read any other book for 2 days, still thinking about the poor boy.

8. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick | Review

I haven’t seen the movie but everyone said it’s one of the best movies. I bought the book instead and had a great experience with Hugo. I was about to sell it but my son loved it, so I keep it. Will reread this one sometime in 2014.

9. Ordeal by Linda Lovelace | Review

The most disturbing book I read in 2013. I bought this book 2 years ago but decided to read it this year because Lovelace biopic was out. I haven’t got the chance to see the movie, hopefully soon.

10. The Dirt: Confessions of The World’s Most Notorious Rock Band by Motley Crue |Review

I’d never been a huge fan of Motley Crue. Yes, I listened to some of their hits, but I was more into Guns N’ Roses and Metallica when I was a teenager. This is a hilarious memoir, a real story of a (once) famous glam rock band in the world. You know the formula of rock stars: booze, drugs, sex and all the excess baggage. Each member was fighting his own demon. If you really want to know what’s behind the scene of a rock star, go read this book. One of the best rock memoirs I read.

So, what’s your Top Ten Reads in 2013?

Today’s challenge is hosted by Jessica.

Keep yourself updated with this challenge on Twitter using #ReadingCram

Thank you Dana and Jenny for hosting this awesome challenge.

20131128-083529.jpg

About lustandcoffee

Hello, my name is Rachael and welcome to my blog. I'm a reader, as well as a book reviewer on various social media platforms. I love thriller, historical fiction, literature, a little bit of fantasy should be ok but mostly I read realistic fiction. I love traveling with my family and sitting near by the window on a rainy day with a cup of tea.

Posted on December 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’ve been so remiss, not having read The Invention of Hugo Cabret yet. I putting it on my “to buy with birthday money list” right now. (Yes, the movie is excellent.)

  2. So many great books! I love Albom and Picoult.

  3. Great list. 🙂 I have been meaning to read Jodi Puccoult.

  4. I love Cornelia Funke! I really need to read Ghost Knight!

  5. I haven’t read any these yet, but I do love the city of Melbourne!

Leave a comment