Kid Reads: The Little Engine that Could

image

Welcome to our new segment. Starting this month, I’m going to review children’s books, and perhaps, give some recommendations. Kid’s books are fun to read. It’s full colors, lightweight, and easy to absorb. The message is clear too. Each book has a purpose and, I feel a bit nostalgic everytime I read it. It always gives a good feeling. That’s what it’s all about, right?

And, our first book is:

image

The Little Engine That Could by Watty Piper
Illustrator: Cristina Ong
Published: March 28th 1991 by Grosset & Dunlap
Format: Board Book, 32 pages
ISBN: 9780448401010
Price: $5.98 (20% discount)
Purchased at: Better World Books
Age: 4 – 6
Goodreads Link: here

Designed especially for toddlers, this large die-cut board book features an intriguing locomotive shape, bright, cheery illustrations, and a simple retelling of the original story just right for reading aloud.

I bought this book merely because I was given a list of readings that teach about The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Kids. It’s not compulsory to buy the books, but I think teaching kids through reading is very effective.
Since AJ’s school implements the 7 habits daily, it’s good to prolong the learning at home.

I love this book. It teaches kids to empower them to overcome difficulties.

My favorite quote:

image

What AJ thinks about the book:

I like the book. I want to be like the little blue engine.

Creds: here and here

Enjoy this rainy Wednesday!

image

About lustandcoffee

A housewife, a mother, a passionate literati, a writer, a tea addict & occasional traveler. I also translate some articles for a business magazine. I'm a contributor for Writer's Magz Indonesia.

Posted on March 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

