2015 Reading Challenges

Hola Canasta!

Just received a note from WordPress thanking me for flying with WP for 4 good years! Just realized my wedding anniversary and my blogoversary are one day apart (ahem).

Thank you, WordPress. And, of course, thank you, readers, for dropping by and leaving your comments.

Another year, another challenge. I was thinking about hosting a challenge but not so sure. I already saved the draft but … may the force be with you. I decided to put it on hold until I’m ready.

I think I’m going to join some challenges this year. My aim is to reduce my TBR piles. I didn’t read much this year. Hopefully I can finish 75 books next year (fingers crossed).

The first challenge I’m going to sign up is:

image

Birthday Month Reading Challenge

Readers are challenged to read a book each month by an author whose birthday is in that month. And it’s cool to pay tributes to authors by reading their works. I’m so excited:mrgreen:

Here’s my (temporary) list:
January: Howard’s End by E.M. Forster (January 1, 1879)
February: The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers (February 19, 1917)
March: A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams (March 26, 1911)
April: Therese Raquin by Émile Zola (April 2, 1840)
May:The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult (May 19, 1966)
June: Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts (June 1952)
July: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (July 30, 1818)
August: The Odessa File by Frederick Forsythe (August 25, 1938)
September: The Shining by Stephen King (September 21, 1947)
October: She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb (October 17, 1950)
November: The Stranger by Albert Camus (November 7, 1913)
December: Seven Deadly Sins by Corey Taylor (December 8, 1973)

image

Another personal challenge. The aim is to cut down my TBR, of course.
Here’s my list:
Here’s my list:
1. Afterlife: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
2. Scream: Carrie by Stephen King
3. Gunslinger: Night by Elie Wiesel
4. So Far Away: Looking For Alaska by John Green
5. Dear God: The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
6. Warmness on the Soul: The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho
7. Second Heartbeat: Sister by Rosamund Lupton
8. Bat Country: Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter J. Thompson
9. The Beast and the Harlot: Seven Deadly Sins by Corey Taylor
10. I Won’t See You Tonight Part 1: 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher
11. Nightmare: Go Ask Alice by Anonymous
12. Unholy Confessions: Saman by Ayu Utami

I’m doing a fun tag for #ChapterFour on Instagram. Post your Chapter Four of your current read, TBR, fave book, or whatever. Tag as many people as you like.

image

About lustandcoffee

A housewife, a mother, a passionate literati, a writer, a tea addict & occasional traveler. I also translate some articles for a business magazine. I'm a contributor for Writer's Magz Indonesia.

Posted on November 24, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

