[Book Review] My Crazy Beautiful Life by Kesha

image

image

Title: My Crazy Beautiful Life
Author: Kesha
Publisher: Touchstone
Web Link: here
Date of Release: November 20, 2012
No. of Pages: 192
ISBN: 1476704163
Format: Coffee Table
Category: Non Fiction
Genre: Biography, Memoir, Autobiography, Music

image

In less than three years, I’ve gone from being the worst waitress in LA to living out my childhood dreams of singing my songs to people all over the world. Sometimes, it feels as if the last few years have encompassed a few decades. . . . You might have heard my voice on the radio, seen me onstage and on the red carpet, or in a music video, but that’s only a part of the story. In these pages, I’m revealing a more complete picture of what my life is really like. It’s not all glamorous and it’s not all pretty, but it’s all real. . . . I want you to come on a whirlwind journey with an all-access pass to My Crazy Beautiful Life.

image

I bought this book on Periplus website (bargain bin FTW! Thank you, Ren). Not a huge fan of Ke$ha but I was quite intrigued by her antics.

I read the introduction and I liked it. I postponed my reading as I lost interest in reading (reader’s block?). Seriously, I’ve been trapped in this zone for quite some time. Then I got sick, had bedrest, and I picked it up again. I finished this book in an hour.

This book tells a bit about Kesha’s childhood, how her brother got her into music (they formed a garage band called “Dynamite Cop”), and she tells about her tough school years as she moves a lot. She starts writing music when she was 4 years old.

Kesha was born at a party, getting accepted into Ivy Leagues, but soon dropping out of high school to pursue music career. Moving to Los Angeles from Nashville, she works as a waitress, a telemarketer, a TV extra, etc, just to pay gas.

After 4 years, all her hardwork is paid. She hears “Tik Tok” on the radio and the rest is history.

This book is jam-packed with beautiful quotes, family and stage pictures, journals, and lyric sheets. I got a big picture of Kesha’s life as an artist. If you’re looking for an in-depth memoir, this is not the book for you. But if you want to read a fun and fast-paced book, you can give it a try.

Kesha is suing Dr. Luke (her producer) for alleged sexual assault and emotional abuse (link)

image

I know how it feels to be bullied; I know that it can stay with you for a long time.

I wanted to write a massive party anthem that would get the whole world moving.

I never have expectations, because as soon as you expect something, you can be disappointed.

image

image

About lustandcoffee

A housewife, a mother, a passionate literati, a writer, a tea addict & occasional traveler. I also translate some articles for a business magazine. I'm a contributor for Writer's Magz Indonesia.

Posted on November 14, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Aku jadi lumayan pensaran juga sama buku ini. AKu cukup suka musik dan talky rap-nya Kesha. Tapi kalo beli bukunya sih…hmmm…nggak kayaknya😀

  2. This piece was cogent, welwelritt-n, and pithy.

Leave a Reply

