#KadoUntukBlogger #unforgotTEN @GagasMedia

unforgotTEN_logo

I have been a voracious reader most of my life. And the older I get, the more I love reading and get lost between words and sentences. Besides writing, reading is one of the things that I can’t live without. Reading is like breathing to me. I have the urge to read at least 5 pages a day. It’s a culture, way of life, just call it what you want. Perhaps, I’m a biblioholic – a term used for a person who loves books, or a bookaholic. I don’t care, I’m proud to be a book addict🙂

During my journey as a reader, I found Gagas Media sometime in the early 2000s. Books like 30 Hari Mencari Cinta, Brownies, Here, After, Beauty and the Bitch, also Kambing Jantan, filled my days during college and work, long before I blog my review.

And then Gagas Media released Kedai 1001 Mimpi and The Not-So-Amazing Life of @Amrazing, two of my all time favorite books from Gagas. From then on, I think Gagas had set foot on the edge of Indonesian literary world. I also learn that Gagas has the most interesting listings, not too broad, not too narrow, but very uncanny.

From romance, comedy, travel lit to Asian literature, Gagas Media fulfilled my needs. I’m looking forward to seeing the new release with sharp edge and more surprises.

So, I’m here to ‘pursue’ Gagas to choose me to be one of the luckiest bloggers to receive a 10 pack of books. If I win, I’ll be happy to review more than 1 book (hopefully more than 5 books). I read at least two books in a month, so you can count on me. I’ll definitely write a review on any book that Gagas will send me (girl scout promise).

Here’s 10 Things I Love about Reading & Reviewing (and Why I Deserve to be a Winner):

1. Books Make Me Happy
As a biblioholic, I’m always eager to find a package with books inside. So, imagine that I get 10 books from Gagas Media. Not only happy, I’ll be thrilled!

2. Books are Good Medicine for my soul
Giving up my job for my son left me sad and unfulfilled. I have to admit, I experienced the symptoms of depression. Luckily, I found my passion: writing and reading. I used to be an avid reader during high school, but then quit sometime during college because I was more focused on playing and writing music. During my second finding, I was so thankful that I appreciate my precious time by reading and trying to give thoughts with a word or two on Goodreads. Then I decided to write my reviews on my blog. Books have helped me to overcome all the bad feelings. Thanks to Gagas for helping me to open the secret window🙂

3. Reading and Reviewing Keeps My Soul Alive
I’m not exaggerating, reviewing books has helped me to write better. Reading alone is very joyful, but not giving a review is like I’m on debts. It’s a pleasure to write a review and share it to the world. I’m a member of a Book Blogger Community, and I’m so happy to read, share and discuss the books with my fellow biblioholics. We agree that reviewing books is (almost) as important as reading.

4. Books Make me Grow
Yes, books had helped me to think and feel better. I see things in different perspectives. I also try to do a mind-processing and do some research about a topic after reading. Petals from the Sky made me think about meditations and being a vegan. I had to think twice before I eat animals.

5. Books Make me Travel Without Moving
I’m a stay at home mom who’s in charge of my 3 year-old son. I don’t go out a lot and I have to give up my dream as a traveler (maybe one day, not now). Books, of course, help me to move from one place to another, other countries, space, even fictitious kingdoms. The Journeys and Life Traveler helped me to widen my horizons and dream about my future destinations. Thanks for giving me a feel-good atmosphere during the reading session.

6. Reading and Reviewing Helps Authors to Write Better
I have never put myself as a critic. As a writer, I got mixed reviews about my work. Some are good, some are OK, some said I have to stop writing. Reviews helped me to grow and try to write better. I also got feedback from many authors about my reviews. I always do my best not to hurt others’ feelings if my review is not satisfying. So, book bloggers are like midwives to authors. The ‘process’ might be painful, but when you’re through, it’s like carrying an olympic torch.


7. I Judge a Book by its Cover

One of the reasons I buy a book is because of its beautiful cover. Gagas books are beautiful, edgy, and eye-catching. They make my bookshelf colorful too.

8. The More I Read, the More I Acquire, the More Certain I am that I Know Nothing

That’s a quote from Voltaire. The more I read, the more I’m hunger for more. I’m never satisfied with the books I have. Reading is addictive and yet so contagious. I want more and more.

9. Books restrain me from gossips

Seriously, women, especially moms, are the most active gossipmongers. I guess it has something to do with age. Women my age tend to love (celebrity) gossips and soaps. Of course, I’m one of them, but I’m tired of it. So, I restrain myself from daily gossips, infotainment and K-Drama by indulging myself with books. It’s more fun🙂

10. Inheritance

I might not have tons of money, but I’d like to inherit my habit of reading and reviewing to my son. I want to share opinions, knowledge, and history with him. And I believe, he might find it in handy someday. He can have all the books that I have, and one day he will read my reviews on the blog too🙂

I hope I’ll be one of the luckiest bloggers.

I know that Gagas will randomly select the books for me to review, but here’s my wishlist. I adore all the covers.

gagaswish1gagaswish2

1. The Scent of Sake by Joyce Lebra

I’m fond of Asian literature. The Scent of Sake intrigues me, with the geisha and feminism as the flavor of the story.

2. Letter to My Daughter by Maya Angelou

I don’t have a daughter, but I really want to read this book. I used to read Maya Angelou during college, but never this book.

3. Letters to Sam by Daniel Gottlieb

The high rating on Goodreads stunned me. I have autistic cousins, so reading this book is a must.

4. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

This book touches racism, motherhood, and history. Those three are among my favorite ingredients in a book.

5. Paris by Prisca Primasari

Paris is the most romantic city in the world, people say. Since the book was praised by many readers, I want to read it too.

6. Restart by Nina Ardianti

I love Nina’s writing on the Glam Girls series. Ijul, one of my fellow bloggers, gave a 4.5 stars. WOW! It must be a great book. It would be an honor to review it🙂

7. Believe by Morra Quatro

LDR has been a hot topic on twitter. Morra is famous of her quotable sentences. I’m never tired of romance, and I’d like to experience romance a la Morra.

8. Bangkok: The Journal by Moemoe Rizal

Bangkok is one of the most memorable places for me. I love its hecticness, culture, and food. In 2008, I went there for a honeymoon with my husband. I’d like to see Bangkok from Moemoe’s perspective.

9. Melbourne by Winna Efendi

Why Melbourne? Melbourne is not one of the most romantic cities in the world, as far as I know. I’ve never been there, and I don’t know what’s what in Melbourne. I’d like to read this one.

10.The Calligrapher’s Daughter by Eugenia Kim

Another high-praised Asian literature. I’ve never had enough of cultural, women, and historical fiction books. Since the book won the 2009 Borders Original Voices Award for Fiction, I’m sure it’s worth a read. Reading a traditional book written by an ABK (American Born Korean) must be very interesting.

20130330-114856.jpg

About lustandcoffee

A housewife, a mother, a passionate literati, a writer, a tea addict & occasional traveler. I also translate some articles for a business magazine. I'm a contributor for Writer's Magz Indonesia.

Posted on June 14, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

