[Book Review] Chosen by P.C Cast & Kristin Cast

20130403-095448

 

Title: Chosen (House of Night series #3)
Authors: P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast
Publisher: ATOM
Published: March 7th, 2009
ISBN: 1905654332
Category: Fiction/Paranormal Romance/Vampire/Fantasy
Website: http://houseofnightseries.com/
Format: Ebook

Book description from bookdepository:

“I guess it had gone okay with Stevie Rae. I mean, she had agreed to meet me tomorrow. And she hadn’t tried to bite me, which was a plus. Of course, the whole trying-to-eat-the-street-person thing was highly disturbing …” Zoey’s best friend, Stevie Rae, is undead – in an eww! zombie! kind-of-way, not in a cool vampire kind-of-way. She’s struggling to retain her humanity and Zoey doesn’t have a clue how to help. But she does know that anything they discover must be kept secret. Trust has become a rare commodity. Sinister forces are at work at the House of Night, where the line between friend and enemy is becoming dangerously blurred. – Not suitable for younger readers –

Thoughts:

Zoey is doing her best to save Stevie Rae, her best friend. Stevie Rae lives in a tunnel with a bunch of other vampirish zombies (or zombieish vampires), ex-fledglings who couldn’t make it to vampirism.

I’m kinda disappointed with Zoey, who slurs ‘H’ word to Aphrodite, but she’s doing a series of slutty things. Aphrodite was caught doing a dirty stuff to Erik in Marked, but at least she did it with Erik only. Zoey who addresses Aphrodite a ‘ho’ is dating Heath and Erik, also has a huge lust on Loren, her teacher. Well, I guess the title should be given to Zoey instead of Aphrodite. And Zoey realized that she’s turning into a ho, which made me laugh.

Aphrodite is replacing Stevie Rae to represents earth, as Erik failed during the rehearsal. Nyx wanted Aphrodite to be. So, she’s the odd among Damien, Shaunee and Erin.
Things turn the other way around. While Zoey lost the person she trusted (Neferet), she gains a new friend (Aphrodite), someone who she can talk to about Stevie Rae.
Together, they try to fix Stevie Rae.

One thing reminds me of the Vampire Diaries: Stevie Rae said she couldn’t enter a house unless invited. I guess the authors should change the method.

The story’s a bit boring and dragging in the first chapters. Things got more tensed in chapter 11. And then the pow-wow bang-bang-boom surprised knocks in chapter 14. Sorry, no spoiler, but my jaw almost dropped. I think that’s the best part of all the three books. I start to take this book seriously.

I was disappointed with Zoey. She’s a mighty goodie-goodie, but she impulsively gives up her virginity without thinking. I thought she would keep it, but I guess it’s true that she’s becoming a ho. But she paid the price. Something fishy about Blake and I was right.

One ridiculous scene is when Zoey’s friends are doing the ritual to fix Stevie Rae. She’s healed (thank goodness) and she got a new tattoo swirling on her face. Then Erin pulls a mirror in her purse. During the critical moment, she brought makeup kit?! I don’t understand. Doesn’t make sense to me.

Overall, the plot is intense and I want to read more.

Quotes from the book:

“So how was Europe?” Calm and collected, Erik draped an arm nonchalantly around my shoulders.
Loren’s smile got wider and he looked from Erik to me. “Not as friendly as it is here.”
Erik, who seemed to be having fun, laughed softly. “Well, it’s not where you go, it’s who you know.”

20130330-114838.jpg

20130330-114856.jpg

About lustandcoffee

A housewife, a mother, a passionate literati, a writer, a tea addict & occasional traveler. I also translate some articles for a business magazine. I'm a contributor for Writer's Magz Indonesia.

Posted on April 4, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

